‘THE AVENGERS’ Soundtrack Features Late 90’s Nu-Metal Crap. Also: New Soundgarden

Oh boy! I thought that the awful use of Nine Inch Nails  in the trailer for Avengers  was bad. I like the song, but holy fuck. Heavy handed. After glancing at the soundtrack listing for the flick, I’m not wishing that was the worst of my problems.

Play List:

The official soundtrack list for “The Avengers” was  tweeted  out today and it’s one of those “music from and inspired by” deals, but the selection is truly headscratching. Seriously, what fucking year is this?  Papa Roach?  Scott Weiland?  Theory Of A Deadman?  Buckcherry?  Evanescence? Do people still actually listen to this music? Our guess is that the going rate for faded 1990s bands is probably a lot more affordable for the penny pinching Marvel, which must take precedence over gathering anthing remotely resembling something hip and contemporary. Oh, okay, so  Soundgarden  wrote their first new song in 15 years so that’s something we guess, but you can hear the lifeless results in the snippet below.

Anyway, enjoy listening to  Bush  and  Rise Against  when the soundtrack lands on May 1st. The movie arrives on May 4th.

“The Avengers” Soundtrack Tracklist

01. “Live To Us” – Soundgarden
02. “I’m Alive – Shinedown
03. “Dirt & Roses – Rise Against
04. “Even If I could – Papa Roach
05. “Unbroken” – Black Veil Brides
06. “Breath” – Scott Weiland
07. “Comeback” – Redlight King
08. “Into The Blue” – Bush
09. “A New Way To Bleed” (Photex Remix) – Evanescence
10. “Count Me Out” – Pusherjones
11. “Shoot To Thrill” – Theory of A Deadman
12. “Whereever I Go” – Buckcherry
13. “From Out Of Nowhere” – Five Finger Death Punch
14. “Shake The Ground” – Cherri Bomb
15. “Pistols At Dawn” – Kasabian

Pretty much nonsense and half-hearted new Soundgarden.